



## MEMBER FOR IPSWICH WEST

Hansard Wednesday, 31 October 2012

## **ROSEWOOD STATE HIGH SCHOOL, AWARDS NIGHT**

**Mr CHOAT** (Ipswich West—LNP) (12.41 am): I rise tonight to speak about my fantastic Rosewood State High School. Last night I was privileged to be able to leave this place to attend their annual awards night. I can report to the House that I was totally blown away by the fantastic night that was completely facilitated by the students themselves. The Rosewood school captains hosted the evening, with entertainment provided by the talented year 12 dancers and the school's band. Kacie Heath, Zoey Major, Sergio Paez and Alex Dowdle were gracious and professional and never missed a beat throughout the entire event.

There were so many great students recognised on the night from year 8 through to the terrific year 12 seniors. The school dux is the lovely Kacie Heath and the runner-up is Alex Reig. I know the time here is limited so I will quickly go through some of the people including the year 12 prize winners: Rhys Attard, Jaymes Branch, Zachary Christensen, Jessica De'Ruyter, Alex Dowdle, Katelyn Fritz, Bonnie Goullet, Kacie Heath, Leonard Johnston, Benjamin Ludgater, Zoey Major, Elizabeth Mills, Brendan Muller, Joshua Newton, Sergio Paez, Thomas Probst, Jesikah Rea, Emma Reid, Alexander Reig, Jason Rossiter, Kristi Sampson, Renee Schulz, Kayla Tierney, Josie Vaughan, Dylan Wieland, Bridie Willmette and Alysha Young.

Other awards were won by Tyson Wintzloff, Robert Young, Hailey Barry, Alex Dowdle and Scarlett Brown. Vocational Education and Training Awards were won by Zachary Christensen, Chelsea Martin, Codey Morris, Rebecca Topp and Jayden Turner. Matthew Burgmeister, Kacie Heath and Tuyet Ngo were awarded Australian Defence Force awards. Emily Maguire and Alexander Reig took out other awards. School leadership awards were won by Alex Dowdle, Kacie Heath, Zoey Major, Sergio Paez, Stella Knight, Naomi McKenzie, Timothy Young and Chris Wilson. The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander student of the year was Jazmin Jablonski. The Principal's Special Recognition Awards were won by Phillipa Prole, Kristi Sampson and Matthew Tanner. The Caltex Best All Rounder Award was awarded to the terrific young Alex Dowdle. The top academics were Isabel Daw, Megan Maguire, Analeise Wintzloff, Timothy Young, Sam Wieland, Robert Young, Chloe Ah Sam and Amelia Rushby.

Principal Lyn Culverhouse and her entire staff body must be congratulated for such a remarkable student body in a truly outstanding reflection of their quality learning environment. I thank the Rosewood State High School community for a great night and wish all year 12 students a long and very prosperous future. It gives me such pleasure to have schools like this in my electorate and others including Lowood, Ipswich State High and WestMAC. They are all a pleasure. I love going out there and I know there are great things ahead for all of those students.